No Fuss Shawl

By: expressionsinyarn

Jun 22 2011

Tags: , ,

Category: Knitting

4 Comments

Aperture:f/3.4
Focal Length:9mm
ISO:191
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:COOLPIX L11

I am a beginner at test knitting and have always gingerly wondered what it would be like if I actually did take up a test project.  However, the curiosity bug bit me fairly recently and ever since there has been no looking back – I have been hooked onto test knitting. For those of you who are aware, the following information might seem a bit redundant but test knitting is essentially an enrollment to test knit a designer’s pattern. It could be a test knit/crochet project and the idea is to test it so that the potential errors can be fixed before the pattern gets released.

When the opportunity came up on Ravelry, I decided to take the plunge finally and so I started with the No Fuss Shawl by Susan Ashcroft. The pattern is available here on Ravelry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The pattern is very easy and intuitive and so after a while it became perfect for TV knitting. I used a wool, silk, acrylic yarn blend in a variegated shade for this pattern. The yarn was lying in my stash for the longest time after I bought it from eBay from a very nice seller from Hong Kong.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Susan was extremely patient with me especially since I was a bit slow in knitting up the piece. However, I did manage to finish it within the deadline and Susan was quite thrilled that one of her test knitters is from India. So, she wanted me to capture images that depicted India in some way, like a particular spice or a newspaper that we subscribed to – essentially anything distinctly Indian in the backdrop of the pictures.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love the fact that despite the deceptively simple lace repeats and yarn-overs, the result is quite stunning. In fact, the pattern would work for any weight or gauge of yarn. I’d love to make another one with a different color combination!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments on “No Fuss Shawl”

  1. How do I get this pattern online?

    • Hi Shirley,

      You can get it on Ravelry. The pattern is available by the same name. 🙂 Enjoy!

      Amy


Leave a Reply

