Amber Bag

By: expressionsinyarn

Apr 20 2011

Tags: , ,

Category: Knitting

6 Comments

Few things in life make me happier than  the dual challenge of completing a beautiful project as well as a new technique to master.  Amber was my first attempt at Intarsia and though it uses only two colors, the process was fun and addictive. Enough to get me officially hooked/needled to try Fair Isle now.

Thankfully, this bag got completed because of this lovely CAL/KAL initiative at the SAARC group on Ravelry.

I used two of my favorite colors gray and beige. I fell in love with the pattern as soon as I saw it. The beads came about later as an afterthought, since I wanted a bit of color to it.

The straps were  crocheted using sari silk yarn from SilkIndian. The yarn was difficult to work with but its coarseness is what made it ideal for a bag strap.

6 comments on “Amber Bag”

  1. beautiful Amrita! Yay for conquering one more technique. the beads are a nice touch

  2. That is SO beautiful! I cant get over it.

  3. I stumbled upon your blog and saw your cell phone cozy. Very cute! Then I saw the link for Amber bag and I became intrigued. I love this bag! It is adorable. The beading really sets it off. Do you have an Etsy shop? If not, you should.

    • Thanks a lot for your sweet comments! I love the Amber bag too. I don’t have an Etsy shop yet but thanks for your encouraging words 🙂


Leave a Reply

