Saroyan Scarf – FINISHED!

By: expressionsinyarn

Jun 23 2010

Tags: ,

Category: Knitting

4 Comments

Update! I have finished my Saroyan as of yesterday – yay!

Here are the pics of the FO:

I have been stashing up on silk yarn lately – courtesy all the shiny, blingy beckoning silk yarn for sale at Silk Indian. They have some amazing yarn in varying plies, shades and thicknesses and they even dye the yarn for you according to specific shades you want.

So, enough of my blabbering. I had stocked up on so much silk yarn but my procrastination got the better of me. The result – my queue had way more patterns to make than my potential permitted me to! I had to use up my silk yarn and what better way than the KAL on Ravelry to finish these lovely skeins up?

So, initially, I started with the golden yarn. You’d think a gorgeous yarn such as this and a beautiful pattern like Saroyan would get along like a house on fire, right? Well, this is what came out of it.

As you can see, the yarn happened to be very loosely plied, very snaggy and stitch definition suffered as a result. So, I auditioned the green yarn for this gorgeous pattern and this is what happened:

See the difference? This yarn is so much easier to work with, especially since it is so tightly plied. The pattern is coming along nicely and I must say, am officially addicted to Saroyan now. Done about 6 leaves till now. Hoping to finish it in the next 15 days or so.

4 comments on “Saroyan Scarf – FINISHED!”

  1. Beautiful job! Lucky you to have so much silk to play with. I haven’t done Saroyan yet – done Travelling woman and Ishbel was a breeze. Check out Dane shawl too – again easy and pretty.

    • Thanks Magi! Yes here we get silk yarn and we’re lucky that way…I’ve downloaded Ishbel and am dying to make Travelling woman and ishbel too….Dane shawl is next on my list for sure! 🙂

  2. Amrita, I have been looking at beginners lace patterns for silk and came up with travelling woman, saroyan. It gives me confidence to see your success.:-) Your three different drapes all look so tasteful. And yes, even I saw the golden yarn was not plied very well, so didnt buy that.

  3. Thanks Kavitha for your kind words 🙂 I really liked the sheen and drape of this silk yarn although knitting with it at the beginning was proving tricky. Wish you all the success with your Saroyan – can’t wait to see it finished!


Leave a Reply

