Razor Cami – WIP

By: expressionsinyarn

May 29 2010

Tags: , ,

Category: Knitting

4 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:6.2mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/4 sec
Camera:COOLPIX L11

I’ve been hibernating under other crafty interests. So, I haven’t been totally useless as you can see 🙂 Been sewing, embroidering and doing a bit of clay sculpture as well…well, trying my hand at it! So, while all this is going on, I come across this lovely Laura Cotton Yarn, which a friend of mine Suma had bought for me. This yarn is too gorgeous for the picture to do it justice. Nevertheless, I am attempting to post a pic so you get an idea. It’s in a beautiful, pale dusty rose shade and looks good enough to eat! 🙂 I have 7 skeins of this yarn and this beauty was languishing in my cupboard for quite a while. Why, you may ask? Simply because the procrastinator in me got the better of me. I really wanted to do justice to the yarn and so my hunt for the ‘perfect’ pattern ended up in – well, these skeins remaining untouched!

Luckily for me, the knitter in me awakened all of a sudden day before yesterday when I came across the Razor Cami pattern on Ravelry. The subtle lace pattern and the fact that most users said this was an easy knit, prompted me to take up knitting once again. My creativity comes and goes in phases, because as I must have mentioned it a zillion times across my other posts, I love randomness and variety in crafty pursuits. 🙂

So, to stop me rambling anymore, this camisole seemed perfect for the hot summers of Bangalore. I started this on 26th May and am hoping I can finish it by the next 15 days or so.

Interesting, how an ugly snake-like creature such as this one can actually transform into…

Something like this :O

But then, that’s the magic of lace and what I really like about this pattern is that the lace pattern is very easy to memorize. Just one constant – lace repeat, followed by a row of knit. So, you get a breather between every lace knit row – just enough to keep you interested but not too much to get you anxious, if that makes any sense!

Initially, I had to frog this baby because there was something going on wrong with the stitch count but then after reading a couple of forums on Ravelry (Ravelry is great in so many ways, this being one of them – help’s always at hand!), found out that the last k1 had to be omitted for the lace to come out perfect. So, the project went to the frog boat and has found a better reincarnated self!

Hoping, this lace continues as expected instead of deciding to shoot off in some other random direction. I’m pretty bad when it comes to lace knitting – oh well! 🙂 Keeping fingers and toes crossed.

Ok, as of today, here’s my progress on the cami so far – about 11 inches from CO edge.

4 comments on “Razor Cami – WIP”

  1. Oh! I thought it was a dark colour, which is why I suggested testing for fastness. I got some dark pink-red-rose kind of Laura which I suspect will run like the devil…

    • Oh ok, yeah that would need washing separately….this one is a super light shade so don’t think it should pose any problems

  2. This is already looking so pretty! Have you finished it yet?

    • Hey Suma! Not yet, just a little bit of finishing touches left 🙂 The ribbing on the top and straps, then I’ll be done.


Leave a Reply

